Slings and Things

I’m not getting to carry Rosie very much at the moment.  Mostly this is because I’m trying not to lift her too much, and what inevitably happens when I do carry her is that I pop round to the shops and end up carrying a 4 pack of juice or bag of potatoes back. And that’s just stupid!  I do want to carry on carrying her during my pregnancy though and I am a bit worried that I am losing my nerve with the wrapping due to lack of practice.  We have also invested in a cheap lightweight stroller, and have pretty much retired the posh pushchair for the time being – it’s just too much for me to lift in and out of the car all the time.  So we are parent facing and non carrying really, which is a bit sad.  The good side of it is that Rosie doesn’t spend much time in the buggy – rarely more than half an hour or an hour so it is not a big deal really.

In the meantime, I remain convinced of the benefits of carrying little ones, especially little little ones.  This article is pretty interesting http://www.bobafamily.com/research/strollers-baby-carriers-and-infant-stress/ and sums up how I feel about it.  I also see so many stiff newborns who are spending loads of time flat on their backs or stuffed in car seats, and I’m reminded that I didn’t do that with Rosie and don’t want to do it with the next one.  In fact I hope that I will be able to sling the littley lots and have two free hands to manage Rosie.  Sounds idyllic, doesn’t it?

On the subject of doing things with two, I had a worry last week that Rosie was going to wean before we got to the end of the book about tandem feeding, and we would never get to tandem feed, but she has got an ear infection, and that seems to have slowed her up. She is making up for it now thankfully!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Slings and Things

  1. Valerie says:

    I’m sorry about the ear infection. 😦 Hope she’s feeling better! And careful about the carrying – only do what you can comfortably!! 😉

Leave a Reply

