What a Christmas!!

Here I am! Like many others who write blogs I disappeared for the festive season as I was too busy with family and friends to spend time putting thoughts down for others. In actual fact I was too busy to do anything as on Christmas Day night, instead if relaxing as the big day was done, we all ramped up to help welcome my new nephew into the world. It was such a huge excitement and so wonderful to see her manage a fast and unexpected (he was a week early) labour so well. Little Bertie has born at 8.45 on Boxing Day at 8.45am.

My sister’s waters went as we all went to bed, and having roused her husband from a drunken sleep in the playroom, we were proving practical support and emotional support from then on in.

They were over 100 miles from home but had packed exceptionally well for such an eventuality and had carseat, hospital baby and new baby bag in the car. Her husband rose to the challenge and sobered up quickly with the shock!
They came home to my parents after an overnight stay in the local hospital, and my mother and I ran around borrowing a Moses basket, rearranging furniture and shopping for food food food for unexpected long stay guests. It was such a brilliant week that none of us will ever forget!

Rosie was wonderful and dealt with being passed around my family with aplomb; she is very even tempered and took the whole thing in her stride. Phil sadly was sick with a coldy/fevery thing so he took up Leo’s bed in the playroom and stayed there for much of the week.

And the little new family have now made their way home to their own house. Bertie has regained his initial weightloss, we all learnt from our early difficulties and I was delighted to be able to help her get Breastfeeding off to a good start. She, in turn, is grateful that I went first – as the eldest she usually goes first but she got a break with this – and enjoyed an easier labour (by no means a walk in the park) and more relaxing first few days learning to feed. And oh boy, what a cutie is he!

This entry was posted in Family Time, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What a Christmas!!

  1. Valerie says:

    Awww, congratulations, Auntie!!
    What an exciting event! LOL about her husband, though – Oops!! Might should’ve cut back on the drinking until junior arrived! 😉 I’m glad you had such a lovely Christmas. ❤

  2. soph says:

    Congrats to me! Decided not to old post but couldn’t resist on this one, it was indeed a week I don’t think any of the family will forget!

Leave a Reply

